Honey Vanilla Granola

Honey Vanilla Granola_1

I love granola. LOVE. But not just any granola. I don’t like the kind that is in little pieces like the consistency of cereal. I like when it is in crunchy bunches. Also, I don’t like granola that is flavorless (obviously) or that is too sweet. It is hard for me to find the perfect granola for my picky palette, so I decided to make my own. Here’s what I do to make the perfect honey vanilla granola.


Yield: 4-5 servings

Ingredients

3 c rolled oats
3 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 c honey
1/3 c coconut oil (canola oil would work too)
1 tsp vanilla extract

Directions

First, preheat your oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit. Next, spray or brush a medium size cookie sheet with a flavorless oil. Then, combine your oats, brown sugar, cinnamon and salt in one bowl. In another bowl, combine the honey, vanilla, and oil. Mix together the wet and dry ingredients until well combined.

Empty your mixture onto the cookie sheet and bake in your preheated oven for about 30 minutes. All ovens are calibrated differently, so yours might bake the oats faster than mine. Start checking your oats around the 20 minute mark to make sure they don’t burn. When you start to smell the cinnamon aroma, they are probably close to done.

Once your oats are baked, remove the cookie sheet from the oven and allow the oats to cool for 20-30 minutes. Once cooled, you can add your favorite nuts or dried fruit and then separate the mixture into small sandwich bags for easy snacking.

I love to eat this granola by itself or sprinkle it over goat milk yogurt. Delicious.

(Recipe and photo by me.)

Leave a Reply

