Almond Milk Eggnog

DSC01092

Listen…I’m not sure what your views are regarding the beloved holiday drink known as eggnog. BUT, if you currently are not a fan, I think that is because you have never made your own.

Ever since I was little, I have loved drinking eggnog around the holidays. As I grew older, I would sometimes even throw caution to the wind and have eggnog made with heavy cream, ignoring the fact that it would wreak havoc on my skin that same day.

Well…yesterday, my eggnog cravings were real and persistent. This year I promised myself though, “No eggnog unless it is cow-milk free!” Despite looking at two stores my best efforts, I had still yet to find a cow-milk free option in my area. So, I decided to make my own with almond milk.

Oh. My. Gawd.

I will never go back to the pre-packaged stuff. Homemade eggnog is so rich, so creamy, and with that nice little kick of freshly mixed liquor. It’s cooling and warming at the same time. It is guaranteed to turn almost any eggnog naysayer into a believer.


Ingredients                                                                          Yield: 4 large servings

2 eggs + 1 egg yolk

½ c sugar

3 c almond milk (I used the unsweetened kind by Silk)

½ tsp vanilla extract

¼ tsp nutmeg

½ c brandy (I used E&J)

Directions

First, whisk the 2 eggs + 1 egg yolk into a bowl with the ½ c sugar until just combined. 

Next, in a medium saucepan, heat the 3 cups of almond milk until it just starts to steam. Then, remove the saucepan from the heat. Keep a careful watch so that it does not start to boil. I repeat: DO. NOT. BOIL. (More to come on this…)

Okay, next you will need to temper the eggs. What is tempering you ask? Well, it is a technique that allows you to add eggs to a hot liquid without turning the mixture into scrambled eggs. To temper eggs, you need to add a little of the hot liquid (here, almond milk) to the eggs until the eggs reach the same temperature as the liquid. Here, I added about 1/4 cup of almond milk to the eggs at a time. Whisk the egg mixture constantly as you are adding the almond milk to the eggs. Once you’ve added about 1 cup of hot almond milk to the eggs, pour the egg mixture back into the saucepan with the rest of the almond milk. 

At this point, you will turn the stove back on to a medium heat and stir the mixture with a wooden spoon for 5 minutes. FIVE. Not five and a half, not five and a quarter. FIVE. I left it on for a few seconds longer and it turned into the most disgusting looking water/scrambled egg concoction I’ve ever seen. I would  have posted pictures below, but instead I decided to spare you the trauma of visuals. 

Here’s the good news though: if you screw up and end up leaving it on for too long and are left with scrambled eggs, you can toss the whole mixture into a high-powered blender and blend it for a few seconds and voilà–you are back in business. 

If you’ve made it this far–CONGRATULATIONS. Really. That is a big accomplishment. Your reward will be delicious eggnog that you can have anytime of year…day or night. Totally worth it. 

The next step is to strain the egg/almond milk mixture through a sieve and into a medium/large bowl. Stir in the 1tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. I was pretty generous with the vanilla and nutmeg and just eyeballed it. Anyway, let the mix now cool at room temp. until it is lukewarm, then put it in the fridge for a few hours. 

After a few hours, pull the mixture out of the fridge and, if you want your eggnog to have alcohol in it, add 1/2 cup of brandy. You can use rum too, but we had brandy, so that’s what we used. The eggnog tastes the same to me either way, honestly. 

Final step: pour the eggnog into a nice big glass and sip as you watch holiday films and relax, knowing that your life has just been drastically improved. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

